Day 17: The Dating Dilemma–Meeting a Boy in the Boonies

I absolutely love it out here. I’m considering staying another month longer if I can. The trouble is, as a single gal, the nightlife in Farmcoast consists of cotton tail deer crossings and wind chatting up evergreens by my windows. Lovely to see and hear but nothing to write WordPress about.

So. What’s a girl to do. I would trade me-time for us-time if I could find the right match, but it’s becoming an impossible chore. Where I live year round, though the square is teeming with restaurants and bars, though I’m at the rock gym surrounded by testosterone, though I’m traveling by subway and inadvertently shoved up against random strangers–it is just too damn hard to meet someone. Not to sound pessimistic, because I am the biggest believer in possibilities. But the dating game is a little like going to the mall with a fresh paycheck, finding the cutest this and that, standing in line for the dressing room, trying on/taking off, trying on/taking-off–and then walking out empty-handed because none of it fit. Maybe that’s a bad analogy because I hate shopping. Or maybe it’s the right one. Because I hate shopping.

It’s an exercise in patience, and these days online dating is really the only option. I liken it to flipping through a catalog–a people catalog–except the vendors sometimes short-cut their quality control. (Not to be mean, but it’s such a random crap shoot.)

Screen shot 2015-03-18 at 11.02.00 AMComing here was obviously not a major factor in my search for a soul mate–maybe soul searching, but that’s slightly (a whole syllable) different. I couldn’t be happier with my choice of location, but so far my (very benign) encounters with the opposite sex have been with the heating repairman, my property manager and the random people at the beach I passed on my run. And, I think I may have had a polite conversation with the grocery store check out clerk once.

I want to live in a place like this. A close enough drive to the city yet far enough out to soak up nature and quiet and running paths without exhaust fumes. But I can’t quite figure out how to bring the socializing of the city to the stillness of (what I consider) the country. I think someone should meld online dating with online realty. I’m laughing inside at the thought, but you gotta admit, it’s a great way to promote an open house. “Beautiful converted barn by the water. 3 bed, 2 baths, 1 eligible bachelor.” Talk about turnkey living.

Leave a comment